Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?

Problems using Bridged network adapter in Windows 7 Ultimate (32 and 64-bit)
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
Go to bottomPage: 1
TOPIC: Problems using Bridged network adapter in Windows 7 Ultimate (32 and 64-bit)
Problems using Bridged network adapter in Windows 7 Ultimate (32 and 64-bit) 7 Years, 10 Months ago Karma: 0
Hi there,

I was wondering whether there is a problem using the Bridged network adapter with Windows 7 Ultimate. I have other flavours of Windows 7 such as Enterprise (32 and 64-bit) which work all fine using the bridged adapter. The problem appears to be that the client can't acquire the proper IP address and therefore ends up with the famous 169... IP range. I am not a network expert but so far I have not had this kind of problem using VMLite. I am not a network guru but somehow it appears that the DHCP handshaking between the Windows 7 Ultimate client and my Windows 7 Enterprise host doesn't appear to be working for this network adapter type. I have been able to use NAT and Host-only types under Windows 7 Ultimate without any problems.

Can you help me out please.

Please let me know if you want me to collect some screenshots of particular setting in VMLite and my client that could help you to diagnose.

Thanks. Dieter

In addition to my comments above I can confirm that the problem appears to be related to automatically acquiring an IP addess for the bridged network adapter. When I assign a static IP in the appropriate range then the adapter works fine. However I do need to have DHCP working because I am connecting my VMLite host machine to different LAN and Wireless networks that use different IP ranges. Therefore it is essential that I can use the option of automatically obtaining an IP address.

Dieter
aussie_bauer
Senior Boarder
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Last Edit: 2011/12/13 19:36 By aussie_bauer.Reason: More findings